Mark Twain Said “Write What You Know,” but That’s Ridiculous

Can this old adage actually make you a better writer?

Ryan Doskocil
4 min readApr 18, 2022
Photo by Isabel Vittrup-Pallier on Unsplash

When I was a teenager, I attended a local writer’s workshop that was part of my city’s attempt to create community. The instructor was young and enthusiastic, with buoyant curly hair and bright red nails. Ironically, her name was Hope, and she announced to the class on the first day that “Write What You Know” was the great Golden Rule of writing, according to Mark Twain.

Imagine my adolescent dismay when I looked at the myriad adults around the room and wondered what I could possibly know about anything. Did I want to write about my self-proclaimed prowess at Super Mario Bros? My secret recipe for afternoon nachos? What Tanya said about Jess and Milo k-i-s-s-i-n-g behind the gym?

No, I wanted to write ghost stories and thrillers and scare the pants off my readers, but instead I felt myself scootching down in my seat and thinking nobody would ever take me seriously as a writer. They would know I had never actually been haunted by an angry spirit, or run for my life in terror from a sasquatch, and oh my god what am I doing here I can’t turn in a story or they’ll all laugh at me and think I’m stupid. Hope had dashed any sense of hope I had at being a writer.

Now I’m older and…

--

--

Ryan Doskocil

Ryan Doskocil is a fiction author specializing in speculative fiction and magical realism. Visit his website at ryandoskocil.com.